Gangs mark territories with graffiti

Have you ever met someone that gets territorial in Ministry? Ay-gee-mama! I see this quite often, because I don’t deal with just one local church I deal with a whole bunch of them. 

Some churches are afraid of their members going to an event at another church. Most of the pastors I work with don’t have a fear of losing people.  They just want to protect their flock from misquided overzealous evangelist. 

I get that. I am very protective of those God has sent me to serve, love and guide.  However, I’m also confident in the choices they make. If I am doing my part right they will make amazing choices. 
Fear of losing people
There is an inclination to fear people will go some place else. But here is the bottom line, in Florida there are 9 million women.  That’s enough to go around.  For some of us, just one of those 9 million could be a full time job. If you loose a person from your ministry, for whatever reason, there are plenty desperately in need of a touch from God.  


Just ask Special Gathering, a ministry within the mentally challenged community. This an unreached people group that has often been ignored by the church. It is so unreached that the fear isn’t losing them – it’s not reaching them at all.  I like that, isn’t that the way ministry is suppose to be?  There are plenty of disabled people yet not enough laborers. (If interested in this ministry contact Linda Howard of Special Gathering, here is a link to her blog. This is one ministry that has plenty for everyone)


Here’s some food for thought:

If we absolutely have to get territorial over people why not the human slave problem? 

Does your events include other churches? How do you deal with that territorial fear? 

How do you deal with other ministries inviting your ladies to events all the time? When is it too much?   

Have you done a community outreach with other churches?
How did that fare?

This is a real concern in church leadership, probably going to be another post. It is a discussion we all should be involved in. 
Q4U: What’s your thoughts on this issue?

