The woman who discipled me in the beginning of my walk said something to me that has stuck with me. “A soul winner is rewarded with a soul winning crowd.”

At the time she told me this I never saw myself in ministry, in particular I never thought I would be in a crowd. You see, I don’t do well with lots of people all the time.  I like being alone.  Time to just be who I am, not perfect but on my way.  I don’t know if you can relate to this, but in crowds of people there is a pressure  to be someone I am not, nor could ever hope to be.

I can hear you now “Sandy you should always be yourself.”  Yes I agree, don’t get me started on wearing masks. I am myself and it costs me.  You see, I realize I have a prickly and stubborn personality when gone unchecked will hurt people.  I think big picture, and have a hard time with details. I am disorganized, I even have a hard time finding my own car in the parking lot.  I forget my luggage and lock my keys in the car. Without help, I am a complete basket case.

I have tried with all my might not have those traits. However, the Holy Spirit made it perfectly clear I was created that way for His purposes and not everyone else’s. My prayer and by His grace is to let those prickly,stubborn, forgetful traits bring Him as much glory as possible.  Will people get offended? Oh yeah! Without a doubt.

I can’t be alone all the time hiding away from the world, as much as I would like. And I am who I am without apology.  So if I have to be in a crowd, soul winners are the ideal crowd to be in.

Here are the reasons why.

Soul winners are passionate. I want to be surrounded by people that have the same passions as God. What is God passionate about? Souls.

Soul winners are out to please God. I want to be surrounded by people who aren’t people pleasers, but God pleasers. Can you imagine being around a crowd of people that don’t need anyone’s approval? They are secure in who they are and will let people be secure around them.   Soul winners don’t care what others think about them.  If they did they would never speak up when the opportunity arises. Catering to what people think all the time will kill that soul winner in you.

Soul winners are not opinionated. I want to be surrounded by people with no opinions and soul winners don’t carry around their opinion. I believe “in my humble opinion” is an oxy-moron. There is no such thing as a humble opinion.  Soul winners would never dare push their fleshly opinion on any person in desperate need of a Saviour.

Soul winners are the last people to get offended.  Don’t you just love people that don’t get offended and caught up in the drama very easy. Imagine being around a crowd of people that don’t get offended easily. Can we say “Heaven!”  Soul winners can’t get offended easily.  Why? There are people in such depraved situations and  getting offended by it won’t do anyone any good. If a person’s lifestyle offends then you will never be able to reach them.

Soul winners are forgivers.  I want to be surrounded by a crowd of people that will easily forgive. The broken and hurt respond to forgiveness.  We are all in need of forgiveness. No matter where you are in the church.  Soul winners understand that.  Can you imagine hanging out with a crowd of forgivers?

Soul winners are merciful.  The world needs mercy.  I need mercy. You need mercy.  We all need mercy. Mercy is for the failures.  I don’t know anyone that has never failed.  There are so many people out there that are living with failure.  They have failed or someone has failed them.  A soul winner creates an atmosphere of mercy. Can you imagine the atmosphere of a whole crowd of soul winners?

These are the people I want to be surrounded by.  These are the kind of people I want to crowd me in, elbow to elbow, shoulder to shoulder, and cheek to cheek.  These are the kind of people I want to be and by the grace of God I can be, even with my prickly and stubborn personality. You are who your friends are.
Lord, I want to be a soul winner.

Q4U:   This list is no where done, what other traits does a soul winner have?

