People questioned Jesus everywhere He went.  My question just this morning was “How do I do that?”  I love it when He answers with “I’ll show you.”

Sometimes we get so caught up in the “Why God? Why?” or the “When God? When?” stuff we don’t hear His questions.  Think about it, what was the last question the Holy Spirit asked you?

Boy, did Jesus throw people for a loop when He questioned them.

His questions change everything.  They caused the believers to think about what they were doing. The ones that attempted to answer His questions were changed forever.

Jesus Asked Wednesday
I want to be changed, and I believe attempting to answer those questions will be beneficial for change.  So each Wednesday is Jesus Asked.  Let’s take one Jesus question a week and  transparently try to answer it. Hopefully we can grow and be changed together into the women God created us to be.

This week’s question is:
Do you see anything?

Mark 8:23
He took the blind man by the hand and led him outside the village. When he had spit on the man’s eyes and put his hands on him, Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?”

I was blind
When God pointed out women’s ministry to me, I was not interested. I saw women as hurtful, gossipers, judgemental, shallow and even too sprititual.  He had to heal my blind eyes.  By His grace I began to see women with a little more clarity, I began to see the root behind their dysfunction.

Lately God has been asking me “What do you see now?”  again pointing out women’s ministry.  I tell Him I see a woman with cancer, a woman going through emotional agony, a woman steeped in abuse, a women insecure about her giftings.  In essence, I see women walking like trees.

He said I could see, yet my vision was still skewed. He said I was still blind.  I saw the person’s defect yes but I wasn’t seeing what God could do. 

Blinded by the visible
When Jesus looked at the lady’s whithered hand, He didn’t see a whithered hand He saw a completly restored hand.  When He saw a few baskets of food, He saw a 1000 people being fed.  He didn’t see the tomb of a dead friend, He saw a sleeping friend in a tomb.

He didn’t see a harlot ready to be stoned, he saw a restored woman.  He didn’t see a shamed woman by the well, he saw an evangelist.

My eyes are blinded by the visible and by the grace of God they will be healed.

I love the blind guys answer.  “I see men walking like trees.”  It is so tempting to announce to the whole world “I am healed, I am free, I am delivered” when in reality we’re not.

It’s also tempting to feel hopeless and say “there is no point in going on, Jesus put spit in my eyes, I had a word spoken over me, I was touched at the conference but it didn’t work.”

I need to let Jesus finish what He started in me.

Q4U: What do you see now?

