Evangelism isn’t an option, how we do it is.

Research shows evangelism is done by less than 10 percent of the congregation. Most people believe apathy a leading cause to the lack of sharing one’s faith, but I believe the primary reason is the lack of confidence.

Confidence comes from Discipleship
The Bible teaches us to be ready when God opens doors of opportunity for witness. Discipleship makes people ready. Disciples of Christ have the confidence to witness.  Their very uniques lives speak to the world and reveal God’s magnitude and majesty.

Let me explain.
In the Old Testament we read a lot about how God caused people to know He is the Lord.

This is what the LORD says: By this you will know that I am the LORD Exodus 7:17

and then you will know that I am the LORD. 1 Kings 20:13

And they will know that I am the LORD… Ezekiel 6:13

Then you will know that I am in Israel, that I am the LORD… Joel 2:27

Yet, we don’t see this in the New Testament. 
We see instead:

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth. Acts 1:8

There is no apathy under the baptism of the Holy Spirit. When you get to truly know Him, you will want to tell everyone.

We will have the power to be a witness. The Holy Spirit will give us everything we need to reveal Jesus as King. We have the power, it’s what we do with it that speaks.  The disciples knew what to do because they had been discipled.

I like Paul’s advice about witnessing
Collosians 4:2-6

Devote yourself to prayer
Keep alert with an attitude of thanksgiving (miserable Christians do no good)
Pray for open doors
Make it clear (be understandable, loose the lingo)
Conduct yourself with wisdom, especially with unbelievers
Make the most of the opportunities (be ready)
Speak with grace (empowering others), seasoned with salt

all that, for one purpose
Have the right response.

It’s our response, to what the world throws at us, that will witness. It’s our response to injustices, it’s our response to needs, it’s our response to apathy that will reveal who the real Mover and Shaker is.

I can tell you when I was out there in the world, a hurt and lost puppy, there were many responses to my bad choices. The majority of responses I got from Christians were judgemental and self righteousness. Some were so wrapped up in selfishness they did even notice I was bleeding emotionally and spiritually.

The best witnesses, the ones that truly won me over responded with mercy.  I knew they had every reason in the world, every legal right to throw the book at me and they didn’t. Instead they responded with confidence of Holy Spirit love and power.

A confidence that was developed, through training and discipleship. You could say discipleship is to learn how to respond rightly when your friend, your family, even your workplace speaks.

Why do we want to respond rightly?  To let the world know He is Lord.

Q4U: When you were an unbeliever what specific response spoke to you? 

