Will not God secure the rights of his chosen ones who call out to him day and night? Luke 18:7

The first woman to disciple me was an intercessor, meaning she was always praying and pleading for people. To have her pray for you was a big deal. People would line up to have her pray.

I would go to her with whatever situation fully expecting her to bow her head, call down heaven, mobilize an angel or two, get a zap of the Holy Ghost and everything would be solved. She wouldn’t do it.

Instead she would look me in the eye and ask “Did you think to pray?”  Of course I didn’t. I thought not only would there would be greater success if she prayed I would get a quicker response.

She wouldn’t pray for me until I had prayed first. She would even say things like “This isn’t the Church of the Last Resort. He is the Alpha and Omega, beginning and end, you start with Him and you end with Him.” Then she would send me off to do my own praying.

Sometimes she wanted to hear what I was praying, that was a little embarrassing at first.  However, when your situation is dire you don’t care what people think about your praying. Just like you don’t care what people think during altar calls, you need an answer, and your going to be first in line to get it. Desperation will do that to you.

Praying through
She would ask me today’s Jesus question.  The older generation calls this praying through.  The first time I heard it I asked “pray through what?”  “Pray through your doubt, Sandy. Pray through your doubt.” she replied.

She then went on to explain all the hindrances to success in my prayer life. She ended it with this little nugget  “A lifestyle of prayer will put life in your prayers.”  I love the older generation.

I locked myself in my room and didn’t come out till I had an answer. Of course the answer was let it go, but hey, I had an answer.

Fine tuning me
When I am going before the Lord of Host repeatedly,  my arguement for His intervention improves each time. It’s His way of fine tuning me. I search the Word for all the precedents for His intervention. I will list every promise relevant to the situation. I personally search my own life to ensure my case is in alignment with His will. I will even bring up His attributes like merciful, and gracious.  Many cases were won by pleading for mercy.

Actions speak
I have learned actions speak loud with God.  My giving financially to stop human trafficking is a way of praying about severe injustice. When I step out of my comfort zone and talk to total strangers about Jesus it’s another prayer about the lost.  My conversations to encourage others in the faith is another form of praying for them. My reaching out to the afflicted speaks loud and clear.

My actions let’s the Father know this is important and I will do it day and night until the rights of the defenseless is secured. These are the kind of intercessory prayers Jesus stands up and shouts “AMEN!” Then the Holy Spirit gets an ear to ear grin, rolls up His sleeves and starts showing everyone whose boss, God Almighty.  It makes me want to start shouting thinking about it.

Isn’t that the kind of answer we are looking for anyway?

I’m encouraged to not give up on God’s mercy, His justice, His fairness, get my shout on and pray through.

Other Jesus Asked articles 
Why were you looking for me?
Did you see anything?

Q4U: When do we cross the faith line in our persistance? When do we stop praying about some things?

