My favorite Christmas song is the “Little Drummer Boy.”

I love the claymation movie just as much.  My kid’s not so much, maybe they will grow up and reboot the Drummer Boy. (I believe my boys could do it, you should have seen what they did with little green army men!)

The song is about this little boy that doesn’t have much to give to the King.  All he has is his drum and a beat. That’s it.

It’s not fancy, it’s not a 21 piece drum set, it’s a simple drum he carries around his neck and a couple of sticks.  Yet he plays his simple drum the best he can.

Christmas can bring out the best and worst in people. Things haven’t changed since the first Christmas.

This song reminds me to let the King bring out my best. I want to play my best for Him. Not just at Christmas but throughout the whole year.

Accomplishment doesn’t have to be an extravagant once in a lifetime feat. It is playing our best in the simple, mundane everyday parts of our lives.

It’s those simple moments we were given that is our drum. It’s doing something well with what we have not for ourselves, but for Him.

Did I take whatever resources I had and played my best with them? Did I take relationships and give my best for Him?  Did I see simple small opportunities as a chance to play for Him and play my best? Did I encourage my leader when I noticed a worried glance, or sensed a sigh of discouragement?

Did I play my best in the Walmart 20 or less line? Did I play my best in the Emergency Room watching my daughter cry in pain? Was it for Him, or was it for me?

Did I miss a couple beats here and there? It happens and of course I did.  But was my heart striving to give Him the very best I had even on the insignificant?

Take this weekend, watch the video and let the song get stuck in your head. Let’s reflect not so much on our accomplishments or lack of, but how we can play our best.

There is something that just makes me better when I feel His smile. Let’s start today and play our best for Him.

Come they told me, pa rum pum pum pum

Come they told me, pa rum pum pum pum
A new born King to see, pa rum pum pum pum
Our finest gifts we bring, pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

So to honor Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
When we come.

Little Baby, pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too, pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring, pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum,
On my drum?

Mary nodded, pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum. 


Q4U: What’s your favorite Christmas song?

