Can you hear the cry of a mom looking for her son or daughter?

Can you see the longing on their faces when they keep an eye on the church door every Sunday?

Can you feel the anquish when they pray for their children?

God can!

I believe it is a prayer that is close to his heart. There is a longing in His heart too.

There is a promise in Scripture to hang on to.

Isaiah 49:22-23
This is what the Sovereign Lord says: “See, I will give a signal to the godless nations. They will carry you little sons back to you in their arms; they will bring your daughters on their shoulders.”

There is no prayer like the prayer of a mother and father for their children’s salvation. The Lord knows their heart well.  He has the same cry for His people.

I can tell you from the perspective of the Prodigal kid prayer works.  My mother prayed for my salvation and God answered it.  She had to put me in God’s hands, she couldn’t save me on her own.  She couldn’t bail me out like God could.  She couldn’t speak to me like God could.

I can tell you from the perspective of a soul winner prayer works. I can’t count how many prodigal daughters I’ve prayed with because there was a praying mother or grandmother. It really makes a difference. Their cold hearts were melted by a praying mother.

No matter what the circumstance God is a Redeemer.  He redeems mistakes, our mistakes and our kids mistakes.  Our kids might not be making the best choices, but don’t let that stop you from hanging on to God’s promise to bring them back.

It’s time to start praying the children home. Let’s pray this Christmas they receive the real gift.  Let’s pray for the programs, the services even the Christmas music on the radio sends a hunger deep inside for a Redeemer.

Now don’t be surprised how they come home. According to our promise the enemy will carry them home.  So don’t judge the person they are hanging out with, it could be the very kind of crazy God uses to open their eyes. Pray for them.

Pray God gives the signal today. This is an urgent prayer. This is a today prayer.
Q4U: Did you have praying parents or grandparents?
