But since you don’t believe what he wrote, how will you believe what I say? John 5:47

I believe most of us are more aware of God’s absence than we are of God’s presence.  Just think past the last week. How many times did we feel, think or ask “Where is God?”

The church Jesus was confronting was no different.  They were talking about Emanuel (God with us) but they were unaware He was standing right in front of them, talking to them! In fact, they were argueing with Him, the Word of God Himself!

I got to be honest, hearing God was the hardest thing for me. You know, recognizing that voice and trusting that it was God. I had a hard time discerning His presence.  I had a hard time stepping out under the power of the Holy Spirit.

I would read my Bible. I would study my Bible. I would even talk about verses, especially the ones that no one else was talking about. It made me look good. Yet, like these Pharisees Jesus was confronting, I wasn’t experiencing Jesus. I wasn’t hearing His voice nor sensing His presence.

I had trust issues
Jesus was asking these experts about their trust.

You see I didn’t trust man who I could see how in the world could I trust God who I couldn’t see? I didn’t know what it was like for someone to always come through for me. I was always on my guard.  People would even say all the time “just trust God.”  How could I trust God, when I didn’t know how to trust at all?

Then I read “God is not man that He should lie.”  It jumped off the page for a couple reasons.

    1. It’s one of my mom’s favorite verses, she would say it all the time and here I was reading it, I found it. It wasn’t just some cliche she made up. I had watched her use that verse in so many circumstances.
    2. It said to me at that very moment, I could trust God.  He wasn’t like man.  And for the first time I met a trustworthy God.  It was in that moment God reached out His hand and said “Sandy, you can trust me. I won’t let you down.”

My love for the Word grew more vibrant after that because of the relationship that was being formed. I heard God’s voice. When I was reading that passage I wasn’t seeking more knowledge about Jesus. I was seeking someone I could trust and found Him.

Where did I find Him? Numbers, of all places!  A book not known for it’s eloquence or profound wisdom. But I believed that one Scripture and it open the door, and my ears.

Jesus asked this question to point the world’s authority on Scriptures the logic they use is the very logic that betrays them. It was the  same logic that betrayed me.

I thought the more I knew about God, the better Christian I would be. Hence, I read my Bible out of a sense of have to, a sense of obligation, a sense of duty.  I didn’t get anything out of it except sleep. Yep, put me to sleep as soon as I started reading it.

It was when I read it out of a desire to know Him, to have a relationship with Him, I began to hear God. I began to really trust Him.  I began to sense His presence more.

Jesus nailed a huge point home with the church leaders.  All your bible study, all your rhetoric, all your so called religious form is useless if its not about relationship with God.  If it was truly about knowing Him, you would see Him coming a mile away.

Jesus said “His people know His voice.”  I learned that voice reading Scripture. I began to trust the Scriptures, the ones I like and the ones I don’t like. When I read Scripture I hear a tone, a syntax in the way He speaks to me.

I recognize that voice when I’m driving my car, doing the dishes or even sitting on the back porch watching the sun set.

Jesus logic I love it.
If you don’t believe what’s is in writing how are you going to believe a voice in your head?

Related Post
I Challenge You 
Will not God answer the persistant?

Q4U: What was the last thing God spoke to you?

