Guest Blogger -Teri Gegen Teri is the director of “Heartbeat”, the women’s ministry of Frontline Christian Center, Boca Raton, Fl.

Did you make a New Years resolution this year?

For years I made resolutions every New Years Day only to find that by mid-January I was pretty well on my way to breaking all of them.  Sometimes it was mid-first week of January.

Finally, after coming to know the Lord, I realized that without Him “I got no resolve.”

Now some of you may have great strength of will and character to resist temptation.   I would love to think this was true of me, but I find I’m just a character with very little will.

Even when we don’t make resolutions, we still find ourselves thinking in those terms when a new year begins.  Not that I think there is anything wrong with resolutions.  On the contrary, it is good to improve one’s self.  However, beating yourself up and getting depressed over failed efforts is not.

Gods tells us in His word that there is no condemnation in Christ Jesus (Romans 8:1).  God gave us commandments and laws, not out of condemnation, but out of His great love for us so that we might live life more abundantly and to its fullest.

After all He is our creator.  He knows the desires of hearts.  He put them there and knows what is good for us, (Psalm 139).  I’m pretty sure His plan for us did not include self condemnation over something that cannot be attained . . . perfection

So.  Having said all this, I have come up with a resolution to end all resolutions.

I call it, A New Life Resolution.

The great thing about my resolution is that, true to its title, you have your whole life to complete it.  You aren’t limited by the whole year issue.  You don’t have to be perfect at any time, either.

You like it better already don’t you?

Well, it’s really not a new concept for there truly is nothing new under the sun. It’s just packaged in a new wrapper, but it’s still a good idea.

My New Life Resolution is simply this:
I am going to learn more about God. That’s it.  I’m going to seek His face.  Okay.  I know what some of you are thinking, “Is that all?  I do that all the time.”

But do we really?  Do we really pray or read the bible to know God better, or are we just trying to make it through some crisis?  If Christians as a body really sought to know God better, our divorce rates would be considerably lower than those who don’t profess to follow God.  Sadly, they are not.

We would operate in the fruits of the Spirit more. We would have more peace through the tough times, the joy of the Lord would be our strength, (Neh. 8:10) and we would be fully operating out of love when dealing with others, (1John 4:7-10).

So seek His face with me and you will be unwrapping the wonders of the universe.  Doesn’t that sound exciting?  God is exciting.

Our God is greater than the universe with its bullies and its problems.  He is deeper than any deep crevasse of depression we find ourselves in.  He is higher than any mountain of bills.  The bible tells us that He is love and out of His love, He knitted together every single person on the face of the earth in their mother’s womb. (Psalm 139:13).  He knows how many hairs are on your head, as well as all other peoples’ heads, at any given time. (Luke 12:7).  He knows all the thoughts of all the people in the entire world.  Oh, yes, He not only created the coolest creature on earth, (that would be us), He created the little sparrow and gynormous galaxies.  Oh, my!  Hold on a minute. I have to take a break. My brain hurts, (Psalm 139:6).

But I digress.

What I want to express is this; if you want a better life, if you want to quit smoking, drinking, overeating, an alternative life style or just want to be the kind of person your dog thinks you are, get to know God better.  Find out what kind of God created you. Find out who Jesus is and how He conducted Himself when He walked this earth.  This is the example, God gave us to emulate.

But even better than this, knowing more about our God begins to change you from the inside out.  God is the one who works those changes and makes them permanent.  Yes, going it “on your own” feels powerful until you crash and burn and fall into the pit of self condemnation.

Read in Job:41-42 where God compares His power to that of man. God wins hands down.  He’s a winner and so are you when you understand what an adventure it is to walk in His power and stand in His strength alone.

New Years Resolution?  Ha!  I have a New Life Resolution.  No turning back. No turning back!

Post by Teri
Leadership Big Fish Style 

 

