Exodus 33:13-19 One day Moses said to the LORD, “You have been telling me, ‘Take these people up to the Promised Land.’ But you haven’t told me whom you will send with me. You have told me, ‘I know you by name, and I look favorably on you.’

If it is true that you look favorably on me, let me know your ways so I may understand you more fully and continue to enjoy your favor. And remember that this nation is your very own people.”

The LORD replied, “I will personally go with you, Moses, and I will give you rest—everything will be fine for you.” Then Moses said, “If you don’t personally go with us, don’t make us leave this place.

How will anyone know that you look favorably on me—on me and on your people—if you don’t go with us? For your presence among us sets your people and me apart from all other people on the earth.” The LORD replied to Moses, “I will indeed do what you have asked, for I look favorably on you, and I know you by name.”

Moses responded, “Then show me your glorious presence.”

This conversation reveals Moses’ heart.  He didn’t have to be instructed or corrected, he didn’t need a revelation nor did he needed to be prodded.  What came out of his mouth in this conversation was the real deal.  He wasn’t putting on airs, nor was he trying to impress anyone.  He was being genuinely sincere – with God.

Oh Lord, renew a right spirit in us that we too may experience this kind of intimacy with You.

Moses wouldn’t go into the Promise land unless God was with him.

Lord, renew a right spirit that refuses to move out of your will, out of your presence. Renew a right spirit that is sensitive to your coming and goings.

Moses took another step with God.  If God wasn’t going with ALL the Israelites then Moses didn’t want to go either.  These are the same people that gossiped, murmured and complained against him and God. Here God gives Moses an opportunity to be rid of them and Moses instead naturally intercedes for them.

Lord, renew a right spirit in all of us that we would not wish anyone to be left behind! Not even the people that have done us harm.  

Moses goes even a step further with God about His favor by pointing out the only thing that makes us different than the rest of the world is God’s presence. Nothing else.  When we experience the Holy One then the whole world will know what a Gracious Merciful God He is.

You see, the whole world is looking for signs of God.  They want to know if He is real.  They want to know is He good? Is He merciful? Is he who He says He is? Every person you meet has this deep longing inside. Some will admit it some will deny it, but it’s there.  Every person you meet wants to know what unfailing love is!

A lot of times we long for God’s Glory because we know it will help us, we can go to our own Promise Lands, but do we long for His Glory for those around us?  Here Moses longs for God’s glory, not only for the further intimacy of the relationship but also for the whole world to know Him.

Lord, renew a right spirit in us that longs for Your Glory, Your Presence, Your Will to manifest in the whole world. 

Lord, “Show me Your Glory!”

Moses gives us a great example. Let’s have this same conversation with God this weekend. Remind God – He called you daughter. He promised never to leave you nor forsake you. Let’s pray for those around us, even the ones that have inflicted deep hurt.

Let us cry out  “Show me Your Glory!” Not just so we can be better but so the whole world will know His Goodness!  Oh for God’s Glory to show up in our personal devotions today overflowing into our churches this Sunday and out into our cities on Monday!

I believe God wants this more than we do.  This is God’s will! To show us His Glory!

