Did not the maker of the outside also make the inside? (Luke 11:40)

Have you ever struggled to stay on a diet?

Or how about exercising consistently?

How about watching what you say?

Have you ever tried to sanctify your facial expressions?  You know try to keep a straight face when someone does something completely stupid?

I have tried to fix myself.  I thought I had to be more disciplined.  I thought I could fix some of these flaws like my unhealthy eating habits, or laziness or even my facial expressions.  You know what I found out I can’t!

Thankfully I don’t have to!

1 Thessalonians 5:23-24 says
May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through.  May your whole spirit, soul, and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.  The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.

In other words, when Jesus, the Prince of Peace, is on the throne He takes on the responsibility of getting us cleaned up not only spiritually but emotionally and physically. He takes on the sanctifying not just on the outside but on the inside too.

As long as we see Jesus as Lord of our spirits alone, we will continue to live in areas of defeat. It’s when He is on the throne in all areas not only Spiritual but also body and soul. It’s all in His jurisdiction.  I’m so glad that no matter what battle I may be going through it’s all in His jurisdiction, it’s all covered by Him.

Whether we are struggling to lose weight, fight feelings of inadequacy or even fight the good fight of faith He knows you inside and out.  He can handle it all.  He wants to handle it all.

When the Pharisees was questioning Jesus about His actions they were concerned about cleanliness and Jesus used it as an object lesson on sanctification.  They didn’t depend on God to sanctify them, they believed they had to do that on their own.  The Law will do that to you.

The Pharisees were trying to fix their issues on their own. They had a whole slew of laws to obey so that their life would be blameless before God.  The problem was they believed they could do it without a Savior.

I used to be my own Pharisee. I would go through what I call “Pharisee Aerobics.” I would grade myself and try to do better in whatever area I thought needed improvement. (It’s amazing how many people are more aware of areas in need of improvement than they are of their own gifts) Thats when the workout began.  Try, fail, repent, try again, fail again, repent again, try yet again, fail yet again and repent yet again.  It seemed like no matter what I did nothing worked.

One day I was really beating myself up, because of failing yet again and I heard the Holy Spirit ask “Didn’t I make the inside and outside?  Don’t I know you better than you? You are fearfully and wonderfully made, I did that!  Don’t you think I can handle your flesh? Your emotions? If I know you inside and out I can handle anything you can’t.  Don’t be so worried about how you look on the outside, let me transform your inside and your outside will change too.”

Today let Jesus ask you “Didn’t I make the inside as well as the outside?”  Take him all the areas we just can’t conquer. Give it all to Him.  He wants the responsibility of cleaning us up, because He knows us better than anyone could ever possibly hope to know you.

