Guest Blogger – Penny Pieratt.  Penny is Section 12 Women’s Rep of the Assemblies of God, PenFlorida District.  What a heart for God she has!!  I just love her humble heart after God.  Penny is a true T.H.U.G. (Totally Humble Unto God) sister.  Her story today I hope is the first of many, she has God’s Word deep inside and it will be a true gift from Heaven to hear it.  Not to mention she has this Kentucky accent I just can’t get enough of.

I tell my story not to condemn but praying that anyone who reads this finds healing and forgiveness in the loving arms of Jesus. I pray that you can let go of the pain and hurt and start allowing the sweet Holy Spirit to comfort you.

I have always been pro-life but I became passionate about eight years ago when it “hit home”. During this time I almost lost my faith in Christ because I prayed she would not have an abortion and kill my grandchild. But—she did. I had begged, pleaded and even bribed her, but to no avail. I made her watch a video of an abortion and a video of ladies that had gone through an abortion and regretted it. But still to no avail.

For the first time in my life I questioned God “why”. I was faithful to Him. My daughter was raised in church so she knew right from wrong. I even felt that I had failed as a mother. I was very angry at my daughter and I was so hurt—but I still loved her. God showed me that when we do things that hurt Him, He still loves us. Satan wants to steal, kill and destroy us but we have to persevere.

My daughter has been serving the Lord for four years now. She tells me that there is not a day that goes by that she does not think about what she did. Praise God she knows that Jesus is our Redeemer and she has received forgiveness. But there are so many young ladies and women sitting in our churches or who we work with that does not know that love and forgiveness. We, as the body of Christ, have to show them this love and forgiveness, to offer acceptance and not rejection. As extravagant love from the Father fills us to overflowing, we can pour out the oil of healing and blessing to the hurting around us.

I love the story of the Good Samaritan found in Luke 10, as it gives us a picture of extravagant love. It demonstrates a commitment to be interrupted, inconvenienced, and to not offer just immediate relief, but to follow up and make sure that all is well. It’s a complete picture of ministering one to another and sacrificial love. And He tells us, “to do likewise”.

When we are willing, the Lord can use us to make a difference in the lives of those who are hurting. We can proclaim the Good News and see lives changed by His saving grace and filled to overflowing with His love so that those who receive His love might then become a channel of blessing to others.

It truly has been a journey but, as usual, God has brought me through as I have kept my eyes on Him. One of the things that helped me was turning my sorrow toward helping others.

I started volunteering at a local pregnancy care center. I became a voice for the unborn because of this journey and I believe there have been some ladies and there are still more that will receive healing and forgiveness in Jesus name. I pray that many more will also become a voice for the unborn babies. Another thing that helped me was dedicating a cross for my unborn grandchild. Many churches and/or pro-life organizations take part in this every year around Roe v. Wade. Pray to end abortion. Volunteer at a pregnancy care center. Love the hurting.

I pray you are ready to go back into your past and get over your pain because you will find incredible purpose in your life—whether or not you are the one who had the abortion or you are the parent or grandparent of the one who had the abortion. And remember to show God’s love and compassion.

